Komen: A follow up

Standard

When I heard several weeks ago that Susan G. Komen for the Cure was going to stop funding community grants to Planned Parenthood across the country, my world was rocked. I was intimately involved in grantmaking for a Komen affiliate and I was shocked that they had changed their policy from a local decision to something that was nationwide. My phone didn’t stop ringing for two days.

For me, it wasn’t about Planned Parenthood. It was about being insulted. I had supported Komen with blood, sweat and tears — and money. They told us the decision wasn’t about Planned Parenthood’s business. And then they told us the decision was about funding mammograms and PP doesn’t provide mammograms.

Without getting into the complexity of the breast health system, my focus is on Komen insisting that I, one of their believers and supporters, didn’t understand the breast health system.

Several years ago I had the pleasure of meeting Bridget Spence at a Komen conference. She wrote about her reasons for continuing to support Komen eloquently and I share it with you here: My Big Girl Pants. Her reasons are all valid and true.

I don’t know if I’ll continue to support Komen. I do know that I will continue to support local organizations that I know are helping people who have been diagnosed with cancer (of all types). Gilda’s Club, in particular, is worthy of your support. (Full disclosure, I’m on the board of directors).

One thought on “Komen: A follow up

Leave a Reply

